Motivational Monday and Tone Up Tuesday

Listen, I know it’s Weigh In Wednesday and I should be updating you all on my weight loss. However, since I jus got back on track with losing…I am going to allow myself one more week before I start posting those numbers. So today, I will be making up for the blogs I skipped Monday and Tuesday. Sound like a good plan? Good, glad we all agree here 🙂

Motivational Monday Day 1:

This week’s inspirational quote is credited to Bob Harper.

“Believe in yourself. Trust the Process. Change forever.”–This quote is so simple, yet those 8 words explain all that you need when it comes to weight loss. I often find myself repeating this in my head when I am on the brink of quitting during a class or on the treadmill. For some reason, the “Believe in yourself” seems to push me harder. I know that I can do this. I believe in me and so do many others. I trust that the changes I have made in my life will help me reach my goals. And I am confident that I will be forever changed. Believe in you and you will change forever too ;;)

Tone Up Tuesdays: I need love..not love handles.

If you have been spending all of your time in the gym spot focusing on those nasty little love handles, CRUNCH NO MORE. Unfortunately, those little boogers are not something that can be toned. In fact, love handles are the result of excess body fat, not lack of muscle. Crunches and ab exercises are therefore not the solution. The best way to reduce these problem areas is to reduce your overall body fat percentage, and we all know that requires diet and exercise.That being said, Jillian Michaels gives some excellent advice on reducing fat in this area…check it out:

 “I’m actually experimenting with different stretches and light isolation exercises to try for specific areas of the body. These stretches will bring blood, and thus oxygen, to these problem areas — my theory is that the oxidation will help break down the fat. And hey, stretching is always beneficial! For love handles, try this side-bend stretch in conjunction with diet, exercise, sodium reduction, and 80 ounces of water a day:

Side Bend (Do this stretch at least three times a day throughout the day.)

  • Purpose: To stretch the triceps, upper back, abdominals, and obliques.
  • Here’s how you do it: Bend to one side, while holding your opposite arm overhead, then quickly stretch to the other side, raising the other arm. This drill should be done in a controlled, continuous fashion for 10 stretches on each side of your body. “

Thanks Jillian 🙂 anddd thanks to all of you for following my blog! Feel free to comment with any feedback or suggestions!

xoxo

-Allison

Leave a Reply

