Tone Up Tuesday

Told you I was going to keep up with my outline this week.Aren’t you proud 🙂

Exercising isn’t fun for everyone. I’ll be the first to admit that I would rather have my teeth pulled than run for miles at a time. Yuck. However, when losing weight it is important that you work out and get your heart rate up. This will not only help you improve physically, but it actually increases your overall mental health as well. Now, for people like me who think exercise is such a drag, try something different. Something fun. I found my “thing” when it comes to “gettin’ my sweat on” and that would be group classes! And let’s face it — misery loves company, right? Having companions with you to sweat through all that cardio can be a great motivator.I know it works for me. Not to mention, I am a huge competitor. I always want to sweat or work harder than the skinny minny next to me.

If it’s a cardiovascular class, it should involve a minimum of 45 minutes of activity.Make sure to keep that heart pumpin’. For maximum calorie burn, try working out at 85 percent of your maximum heart rate. (To calculate your MHR, subtract your age from 220. Multiply that number by .85 to get your target heart rate.) Wear a heart rate monitor or check your pulse a few times during the class to make sure you’re staying on track.Sounds like a lot of work, but it is worth it….promise.Go to your local gym and see whether you can get in on one of these bad boys:

Spinning

Step

Kickboxing

Bootcamp

Zumba

…the list goes on and on. Give it a go 🙂

xoxo

Leave a Reply

